var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-41362908-1']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://' : 'http://') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();
Home / Cricket News / Croft Recalls Rested Stars For Somerset T20

Croft Recalls Rested Stars For Somerset T20

Robert Croft has recalled Colin Ingram and Timm van der Gugten for Glamorgan’s crucial NatWest T20 Blast clash with Somerset tomorrow (Friday) at 7pm.

Chris Cooke remains sidelined, while Nick Selman is included in the 13-man squad for the match.

A win for Glamorgan against Somerset at The SSE SWALEC of Friday evening will almost certainly guarantee them a place in the quarter finals of the competition and the Welsh county will be looking to bounce back after T20 defeats to Hampshire and Gloucestershire in recent weeks.

Although Ingram and van der Gugten were rested for the trip to North Wales, Glamorgan returned to winning ways at Colwyn Bay on Wednesday, with teenage sensation Aneurin Donald smashing a double-century to inspire a four-wicket win over Derbyshire – the Welsh county’s first in this season’s County Championship.

”That win in Colwyn Bay in the four day game against Derbyshire has given us renewed confidence, and although we know it will be a tough game against Somerset, we will be ready for it,” said Glamorgan Head Coach Croft.

Croft’s side are currently four points behind leaders Gloucestershire in the South Group, but they have two games in hand and will end the campaign with two away games against Sussex and Essex next week.

They welcome rivals Somerset on Friday night, who have named Mahela Jayawardene and James Hildreth in their 13-man squad for the trip.

The game sees Matthew Maynard and Jim Allenby returning to face their former club; Maynard in his capacity as Somerset coach, with allrounder Allenby leading the West Country side against the county where he spent six seasons. Somerset are currently rock-bottom of the South Group with three wins from 12 matches.

Glamorgan squad: David Lloyd, Mark Wallace, Colin Ingram, Aneurin Donald, Jacques Rudolph, Graham Wagg, Craig Meschede, Andrew Salter, Timm van der Gugten, Michael Hogan, Shaun Tait, Ruaidhri Smith, Nick Selman.

Somerset squad: Jim Allenby (c), Mahela Jayawardene, Johann Myburgh, James Hildreth, Peter Trego, Tim Rouse, Roelof van der Merwe, Ryan Davies (wk), Lewis Gregory, Josh Davey, Paul van Meekeren, Max Waller, Ben Green.

Secure your seats for the match by clicking here. Adult tickets £15 and under 17s £5.

Check Also

Yorkshire defeat Glamorgan by 90 runs

Despite career-best bowling figures of 4/32 by Colin Ingram, the Yorkshire Vikings defeated Glamorgan by …