var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-41362908-1']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://' : 'http://') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();
Home / Cricket News / Live T20 cricket: Worcestershire v Glamorgan – from 5.30pm

Live T20 cricket: Worcestershire v Glamorgan – from 5.30pm

GRAHAM WAGG recorded Glamorgan’s finest Twenty20 bowling figures with five for 14 as the Welsh county hammered Worcestershire in their Twenty20 opener.

Glamorgan scored 159 for four in a rain-affected 14-over match with Chris Cooke top scoring with 57 from just 27 balls which included five fours and four sixes.

Wagg then helped reduce Worcestershire to 102 for nine in reply with Glamorgan celebrating victory by 58 runs under the Duckworth/Lewis method.

It is early days in this competition but Glamorgan look a more balanced and competitive side this year with openers Mark Wallace (33) and Jim Allenby (37) chipping in and spinners Dean Cosker and new signing Nathan McCullum sharing four wickets.

Glamorgan made a rapid start in their opening six powerplay overs as they reached 61 for one before rain intervened.

Wallace produced a blistering 15-ball 33 which included a six over deep square-leg from West Indian Andre Russell.

But Wallace’s innings came to an end when he chipped a Jack Shantry straight to Worcestershire captain Daryl Mitchell.

Following a rain delay the game was restarted at 7.12pm with the match reduced to 14 overs.

Allenby and Cooke shared a second-wicket stand of 53 in five overs before Allenby was run out by a direct hit by Shantry at short fine-leg for 37 from 24 balls.

The hard-hitting Cooke brought up his 23-ball 50 with four scoring shots of 6, 4, 4, 6 off the hapless Chris Russell who conceded 22 runs from his over.

Cooke was eventually bowled by Russell with the last ball of the 12th over by Russell for a blistering 27-ball 57.

Captain Marcus North kept up the momentum following a slow start as he finished unbeaten on 21 from 13 balls.

Worcestershire were set a target of 161 under the Duckworth/Lewis method and scored 15 from Allenby’s opening over before moving onto 34 after three.

But Wagg dismissed both openers Moeen Ali and Thilan Samaraweera in successive balls with short deliveries Cooke and Cosker taking the catches.

Wagg missed out on a hat-trick but took three wickets in four balls when he bowled Gareth Andrew for nought.

McCullum’s first ball for Glamorgan was a full toss that was caught at deep mid-wicket by Cosker to dismiss Andre Russell.

Cosker became the second Glamorgan bowler to take two wickets in two balls when Alexei Kervezee was stumped down the leg side off a wide by Wallace before Aneesh Kapil was trapped lbw.

McCullum claimed his second Glamorgan wicket when he took a brilliant return catch to dismiss Mitchell as Worcestershire slumped from 36 for nought to 54 for seven.

Choudry and Shantry shared a stand of 35 before Wagg took his fourth wicket with Michael Hogan taking the catch.

And Wagg celebrated his fifth wicket with the final ball of his second over with Cooke taking the catch at deep mid-wicket to dismiss Ben Cox for 27 to round off the victory.

Worcestershire: M Ali, T Samaraweera, A Kervezee, D Mitchell, A Russell, G Andrew, A Kapil, B Cox, S Choudry, J Shantry, C Russell.

Glamorgan: J Allenby, M Wallace, C Cooke, M North, M Goodwin, B Wright, N McCullum, G Wagg, D Cosker, M Hogan, W Owen.

*Look out for our T20 live wechat with Robert Croft next Thursday lunchtime at


Check Also

Yorkshire defeat Glamorgan by 90 runs

Despite career-best bowling figures of 4/32 by Colin Ingram, the Yorkshire Vikings defeated Glamorgan by …